#1511 User Defined Pass-By-Value Types, Structs

poltomb Wed 27 Apr 2011

I have just recently stumbled upon this site, and it so far looks like the answer to my prayers. The one drawback in all the languages that I really like is the lack of user defined pass-by-value types. I am a Java developer through and through, it's what I know and love. Java does not have this feature, but another language that I like does have it: C# (structs). I understand the "everything is an object" idea, and I support it completely, the one thing that keeps me from using new languages is either the lack of this feature or the lack of similarity to my known languages.

This language, to me, looks like Mr. Java married Ms. C# and had one gorgeous looking daughter which was lovingly named Fantom (Fan for short :D ). One of the features that is drawing me to this language is TRUE properties, ones with storage.

The only feature this language is missing is the idea of user defined pass-by-value types.

Since I have found nothing regarding structs/user defined value types both in the documentation and in the discussions here, this is my official proposal for C, C++, and C# like structs, but with a few more restrictions.

Proposal:

Unified pass-by-value type heirarchy and user defined pass-by-value types

Class Heriarchy

• abstract Struct
    • Bool
    • Int
    • Float
    • Str (if Str objects are immutable)
    • ... (user defined structs)

Semantics

• Descendents of Struct will be final.
  • Struct may not be extended explicitly (like Facet).
  • Descendents of Struct may only contain fields that are descendents of Struct.
  • Bool, Int, Float (and Str) literals will reman the same, and all their functionality will remain the same as well.

Syntax

struct MyStruct
{
  // fields may be other value types
  Bool b
  Int i
  Float f
  Str s

// ctors are the same as other objects

// methods are the same as other objects
}
struct MyOtherStruct
{