#2364 Pessimistic Versioning with Depend

SlimerDude Thu 16 Oct 2014

I believe the documentation for Depend is lacking and needs revising, for it doesn't explain in a clear fashion how to do pessimistic versioning...

As a pod producer, my libraries depend on other libraries. For those dependent libraries I want to specify a minimum version of X.Y.Z to get the latest API additions. But following semantic versioning (and common sense) I also want to specify a maximum version of X.Y so I don't pickup any non-backwards compatible changes.

Example, if I depend on version 1.0.14 of library foo then I'm able to use any version of foo 1.0.XX that's greater than or equal to 1.0.14 but not 1.1.XX.

I worked out how to specify this with Depend:

foo := Depend("foo 1.0.14 - 1.0")

foo.match(Version("1.0"))        // --> false
foo.match(Version("1.0.13"))     // --> false
foo.match(Version("1.0.14"))     // --> true
foo.match(Version("1.0.15"))     // --> true
foo.match(Version("1.0.99.99"))  // --> true
foo.match(Version("1.1.0.0"))    // --> false
foo.match(Version("1.1"))        // --> false

I find I want to do this with pretty much every dependency I declare, even core Fantom pods. Example, BedSheet uses Fantom 1.0.66 specific APIs, and I doubt it'll work with a future Fantom 1.1 release - so sys 1.0.66 - 1.0 it is!

As such, it'd be really useful if there was shortcut for this syntax. Ruby has one, although it's twiddle-wakka shortcut makes no logical sense to me. (Neither the name nor the shortcut!)

Personally, I would have liked to have used + to mean increments in that segment only, and ++ to mean an increment in any version segment.

foo 1.0.14+   // pessimistic versioning
foo 1.0.14++  // optimistic versioning

But I fear it's too late for that!

Maybe brackets could be used to limit the effect of the plus symbol?

foo 1.0.(14+) // pessimistic versioning
foo 1.0.14+   // optimistic versioning (as it is now)

What do others think?

LightDye Sat 18 Oct 2014