#2659 Fantom Equivalent to Java Code

dal Fri 20 Oct 2017

Hi

I'm new in Fantom and wrapping up next java libraries in pod:

https://github.com/grantwest/SparkJ

There is portion of Java I'm not sure how to write down equivalent in Fantom!

final SparkEvent[] event = {null};
eventStream = device.eventStream(e -> event[0] = e);

Any help is appreciate!

SlimerDude Fri 20 Oct 2017

Hi dal!

It kinda depends on how the device.eventStream() method is defined, but I imagine the code looks a little like this:

// this is a field
SparkEvent?[] events := SparkEvent?[null]

// a statement that passes an event handler function that sets the first item in the list
eventStream := device.eventStream |SparkEvent e| { events[0] = e }

But I'd imagine it'd be better to define a list that takes non-null items and just add the event to the list:

SparkEvent[] events := SparkEvent[,]

eventStream := device.eventStream |SparkEvent e| { events.add(e) }

You may also be able to use an it-block for the event handler:

SparkEvent[] events := SparkEvent[,]

eventStream := device.eventStream { events.add(it) }

dal Sat 21 Oct 2017

Hi

Thanks for replay!

I can't make this work.

This is original method!

public SparkEventStream eventStream(Consumer<SparkEvent> eventHandler){
    Client client = ClientBuilder.newBuilder().register(SseFeature.class).build();
    WebTarget target = client.target(session.baseUrl).path("/v1/devices/" + deviceId + "/events/").queryParam("access_token", session.getTokenKey());
    return new SparkEventStream(target, eventHandler);
}

It is using Consumer Interface that I'm not familiar!

SlimerDude Sun 22 Oct 2017

I can't make this work.

Without an error message, stacktrace, or the fully qualified names of the classes involved, I can't really suggest much.

But, assuming you mean the new java.util.function.Consumer interface of Java 8, then unfortunately I don't think you can use it in Fantom...