Blog Post

#355 Three year history of Fan

brian Tue 2 Sep 2008

Today is a good day for my inaugural blog entry, because three years ago today on 2 Sept 2005 I started coding up Fan. The first bit of code was the original compiler written in Java.

In 1996 I was one of the founders of a company called Tridium. We built a Java framework for various markets including building automation, industrial automation, telematics, medical devices, aerospace, etc - basically anything that required smart networked devices. Recently this space has been coined M2M or Machine-to-Machine. At Tridium we used Java to build all of our technology, but over and over again we'd run into potential customers and OEMs who were Microsoft shops. Often this meant that they just weren't interested in Java technology. Even if they were, they were stuck with a huge legacy of .NET code which didn't play well with Java. Sometimes you can get away integration via a wire protocol, but that doesn't work for UIs or embedded devices.

In the summer of 2005, it became clear that Honeywell was going to acquire Tridium (which they did in November). I'm not really cutout for big companies, so I knew I'd be moving on eventually and started thinking about what the future might hold. My first order of business was that I wasn't going to pick the Java camp over the .NET camp (or any other camp). I didn't want to be developing technology that was tied to a particular platform, so the idea of Fan was born. Also having spent a decade debugging nasty race conditions and dead-locks that only occur on customer sites, I really wanted to move to saner concurrency model.