#709 Working with multiple source files

efficacy Fri 7 Aug 2009

I'm relatively new to fan, but so far I have been unable to find an answer to what seems a simple question. It's very likely I'm missing something obvious, but it feels as if it should be something in the introductory documents.

How do I work with multiple source files?

For example:

file 1 (hello.fan)

class HelloWorld {
  static Void main() {
    Component().thing
  }
}

file 2 (thing.fan)

class Component {
  Void thing() {
    echo("I am a thing")
  }
}

If I put the contents of thing.fan inside hello.fan it all works fine, but when they are in separate files I get

hello.fan(3,5): Unknown method hello_0::HelloWorld.Component

On the surface it looks like "using" is the solution to this, but the examples are very light on "using", and from what I can find it seems I would need to specify a "pod". But my code is not in a "pod"!

I can't find any syntax to specify the name of a file to use, either. Is there any such thing? How do more experienced fan programmers work with multiple source files?

Although we may rail against the fuss of enforced source file names in Java, at least they provide a way round this problem for the Java compiler :|

andy Fri 7 Aug 2009

Looks like you're running Fan as scripts. You can't import other script files right now when running Fan this way. You will need to create a full pod if you intend to split your code up in multiple files. See here and here for info on running scripts and buildling pods.

Unlike Java, there are no rules with file names (class and filename do not have to match), and you can include multiple types in a single source file.

brian Fri 7 Aug 2009

most of the focus has been on Fan's module system, so using doesn't let you import script files

although you can use sys::Sys.compile to compile external files into pods (but they won't be brought into the static namespace)

efficacy Sat 8 Aug 2009

Thanks.